About Junior Achievement

Junior Achievement of Southwest Florida was incorporated in June of 1994 under the direction of strong business leaders who were passionate about education and free enterprise. Their story begins in 1975, when they taught 24 students in an after-school session at Naples High School. Our founders remain active today, serving in the classroom and in community endeavors.

Since JA was first established in Southwest Florida, the outreach and number of programs have grown dramatically. Students in Collier, Lee and Charlotte counties now receive JA lessons from hundreds of community leaders. Business ethics overlay the three teaching pillars of work-readiness, entrepreneurship and financial literacy.
Presidents of this agency include Mary Wilkin, Bill Plough, Wendy Harrison, Diana Morris, and Victoria Stephan.

The National Summit and Peak Performance Awards are consistently awarded to this agency for strong accomplishments in financial solvency, program impact, program quality practices and management practices. An outstanding local Board of Directors oversees policy and financial solvency to ensure a strong future for the children of Southwest Florida.


angela-fisherPresident & CEO

Angela Fisher

Junior Achievement of Southwest Florida

Contact Us




 2017-2018 Board of Directors

Christina SchwinnChristina Harris Schwinn,

Pavese Law
Curt Todd2Curt Todd, Vice-Chair
Wells Fargo
Senior Vice President
Scott Fischer HeadshotScott Fischer, Vice-Chair
Scott Fischer Enterprises, CEO
robert lyonsRobert Lyons, Treasurer
Consolidated Cleaners, Inc., President
Carleton CaseCarleton Case, Member at Large
Brown & Brown Benefits
Vice President of Business Development
Gary Tasman Headshot- JAGary Tasman, Past Chair
Cushman & Wakefield Commercial
Property SWFL
CEO/Principal Broker

Russell Budd, PBS Contractors, Owner

Andy Buschle, BMO Harris Bank, Vice President

Beth Coryell, Collier County Public Schools, Director, Secondary Programs

Catherine Fay, Naples Air, Inc., VP and Co-owner

Sean Friend – IberiaBank, Vice President, Branch Group Manager Lee County

Dr. Sandra Kauanui, FGCU, Director Institute for Entrepreneurship

Nancy Korista, Strategic HR Services, HR Professional

Brandon Phillips, GlobalHR Research, President and CEO

John Ryan – Comcast Spotlight, General Manager of West Florida

William Scott, William Scott Initiatives, President and CEO

Suzanne Specht, FSBDC at Florida Gulf Coast University-Lutgert, Asst. Director

Chairmen Emeriti

Richard Durnwald, Northwestern Mutual Financial Network, Financial Advisor

David Hall, Sanibel Captiva Community Bank, Exec. VP/CFO

Larry Medley, Wells Fargo Advisors, Sr. VP Investment Services Group

Tom Pitser, Robert W. Baird & Co., Inc., Senior Investment Consultant

2015-17 Gary Tasman 

2014-15  Tom Pitser

2013-14 Lisa Van Dien

2012-13 Carl Howes

2011-12 David Hall 

2009-10 Connie Jones, Ph.D.

2008-09 Craig Sherman

2007-08 Dilman Thomas

2006-07 Richard Durnwald

2005-06 Bob Bassett

2004-05  Rick Cote

2003-04  Sabra Smith

2002-03 Angela Garcia

2001-02 Larry Medley

2000-01 Joel Whittenhall

1999-2000 Joel Whittenhall

1998-99 Joel Whittenhall

1997-98 Kevin Hale

1996-97 Kevin Hale, JA Board
Steve Personnette, Lee Co. Chair
Joel Whittenhall, Collier Co. Chair

1995-96 Jerry Nichols, JA Board
Joel Whittenhall, Collier Co. Chair

1994-95 John Garbo

1992-94 information not available

1991-92 Karen Gudknecht

1990-91 Joe Paterno

1989-90 Chris Houtchens